Goodbye 2016 ~ Hello 2017

I can’t believe that it is 2017 already, even more so that it is the 9th January! This month has flown by already and I can still remember Christmas. I haven’t posted on here in a while, I’ve been having some problems with my eyes which prevents me from being able to look at any sort of screen for long periods of time. It’s been hard work really! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Let’s talk about how 2016 wasn’t really a great year but at the same time, there was some amazing memories that kind of make up for all those bad times. In 2016, I finally found the courage to get some help in regards to my depression and anxiety. I had been struggling for so long and I had finally just given up.

I started counselling in March, shortly after hitting rock bottom in February. It was time to sort my life out, my relationship was very rocky and I had lost a good friend. Counselling helped me a lot, I had 10 sessions with a free counselling service but decided I wasn’t ready to walk on my own again so I went with a paid counselling service.

I’m not the sort of person who likes to accept help or support easily. I have grown up having to be strong all the time due to family issues and just general life issues. But I was totally done being strong all the time and it was the best thing I’ve ever done. To go and talk to a counsellor who is not judgemental and who is supportive.

I learnt a lot about myself in the process of going to a counsellor. I suffered from anxiety which I always thought was me over-reacting to things, I indeed did have depression and I wasn’t afraid to admit it. It was a tough process as I didn’t want to tell my counsellor everything to begin with but the better I felt, the more I opened up.

My last session was at the beginning of November and my counsellor introduced me to Self-Care and it’s stuck. I have had my down days but I’ve had much more bright days which makes the bad days not so bad. I do everything for me now, I let myself feel what I want to feel and if I don’t want to do something or go somewhere then I don’t. It feels great!

So when Christmas come around and New Year, my goals were to make 2017 better than any other year I’ve had before now. I’m going to journal more, do more self-care, go travel more, do more photography, meet new people, build new friendships, leave the past in the past and just generally live my life to fullest!

So guys, here is to 2017! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will hopefully be doing more blogging once my eye condition is under control (I have Dry Eye Syndrome) and putting up some pictures etc so stay tuned! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

